top of page

Twins are almost 2...Time to Focus on MOM!

It's hard to believe the twins are almost two! I think like most first time moms (especially moms of multiples), the last two years I have been so focused on my kids, that I've forgotten about myself! I have spent countless hours researching cloth diapers, the best bottles, how to relieve colic, development stages, teething, swaddling techniques, the best first solid foods, the best toddler meals, etc. I completely forgot about the biggest factor in how my kids function and develop...the health and mental state of their caregiver...in their case, me...their MOM!

As a first time mom (or really any mom), I constantly feel like I don't measure up, I'm not doing enough, I'm not "good" enough. Constantly pushing my self esteem in the toliet, trying to keep up with moms of singletons, and worrying why their kids seem to be ahead of mine developmentally. Their cousin, who is only a month older, can already say the alphabet and all the sounds. Their cousin, who is 6 months younger, weighed more than they did at a year old. And then don't get me started on Pinterest and Facebook. Throw in a big whoomping of postpartum depression, a body that is carrying extra weight and twin tummy, and you get a mom who has lost their sense of self.

With the realization that the twins are turning two...I have finally said enough. No more daily crying and feelings of worthlessness. I am important to my kids...I am their primary care giver...how I view myself and my emotional state directly affects my kids. I need to take care of myself, I need to focus on improving my self esteem and mental health to ensure my kids have good self esteem.

In February, a good friend mentioned she was starting a fitness program, called the 21 Day Fix, that focused on portion control, clean eating, and 30 minute exercises one can do from home. I was intrigued and decided to try it. I struggle with an autoimmune disease, multisystem Sarcoidosis, and Degenerative Disk Disease. And even though I used to be a Division I Field Hockey player, those two medical issues have really decreased my ability to do intense workouts (dont to mention some daily activities). The first 14 days, I was only able to do the nutritional and portion control part of the program. I needed time to figure out how to schedule my workouts around the twins and didn't want the pressure of trying to do the nutrition and workouts together. I wanted to succeed with one to help me succeed with the second. In the first week and a half, of just doing the nutrition, I lost ten (10) pounds! My husband lost 7 (seven) lbs! It was exactly the positive reinforcement I needed. My clothes fit so much better, I was fitting into some of my prepregnancy clothes...my self esteem took a huge positive step forward.

I just started doing the exercises this week. They aren't the hard core P90X type workouts (thank goodness becuase I would never stick with it nor be able to do them). The workouts are just right. i have to use modifiers a lot due to my back and medical issues, but they are still challenging and I can feel my muscles working. I haven't stepped on the scale or done measurements since starting the workouts, but my face looks skinner, my neck looks slimmer, my pants fit better, and I FEEL better!

The nutrition took a about a week to really get it down. You don't count calories! They have simplified the process into correctly portioned containers for different food types. Protein, carbs, veggies, fruits, good fats etc. You figure out your caloric needs based on your weight, activity type and the calories burned during workouts. That puts you in a caloric range. Based on that range you can use so many of each colored container a day. So you preplan your meals for the week based on containers. SO EASY! I wasn't sure how the preplanning would work, but after the first week, and the initial learning curve, it has made a huge difference in how we eat. It has taken the guesswork out of what's for lunch or dinner. I'm eating more food and at regular intervals than I was before doing the 21 Day Fix. I'm eating healthier food and in the right portion sizes. I honestly don't always fit it all in and I'm never hungry. And I'd never thought I'd say this, but I crave my Choloate Vegan Shakeology protein shake that I have as a snack each day. I can have 2 glasses of wine a week, can have chocolate (within reason), I never feel I'm on a diet...becuase I'm not. I'm learning how to eat clean. My kids are eating less processed foods and their eating habits have gotten better. I feel better about myself. And more importantly I'm not beating myself up everyday with negative comments.

If you are a new mom (or not so new mom) and are looking for a way to jump start weight loss and learn about clean eating...the 21 Day Fix is a step in the right direction. And remember summer is coming soon...even though this winter never wants to end...you don't want to be beating yourself up for not taking your kids to the pool becuase you aren't comfortable in a swimsuit.

We are Buckeye By Design

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

...

bottom of page