top of page

What to do after a Nutrition or Fitness Setback?

So, we all have those days or weeks where we feel we take several steps backwards after working so hard to take one step forward. The hardest part of any new fitness or nutrition program is sticking with it and/or maintaining the weight loss after the initial program. So many programs out there get great initial results because they severely restrict your calories for a set period. It's a "diet," meant to only be done for a short period. It's a quick fix...not something that is sustainable. It doesn't teach you how to eat less processed foods, or how to "eat clean". It doesn't teach you proper portion sizes or portion control, which you use after you are done with the "diet" to maintain your results.

What I love about the 21 Day Fix program from Beachbody, is that you not only lose weight, but you learn proper nutrition! You learn how to eat clean...not just for you, but through the accountibility challenge groups, you learn clean recipes you can use for your family as well as yourself. You relearn portion sizes....correct portion sizes for each food group and how many portions to eat throughout the day. The colored containers make it easy to visualize a proper portion. You can pull the containers out whenever you need to be reminded...and they are awesome for taking with you to a restaurant to portion out your food (put the rest in a doggy bag).

This last week, I had a ton of stuff going on (who doesn't, right?). The twins turned 2, we had in-laws staying with us for almost 2 weeks, and I had this crazy consignment sale I had to prep all the kids clothes for that they had grown out of. (For any moms that have participated in one of those consignment sales...you so understand the amount of time and work that goes into prepping and tagging the clothes and toys.) Needless to say the last 5 days have not been the best for me workout or nutrition wise. I did not make my workout a priority and I went off the wagon for 5 days. Luckily I already had the basics of the 21 Day Fix for nutrition, so even though I didn't not have a weekly eating plan, I was able to portion out what I did eat. However, the kids birthday bought 2 days of bad eating...fast food, pizza, cake, ice cream, cupcakes...you name it.

I allowed myself some room and didn't kill myself over making some bad nutritional choices, knowing the next day I would be back on track. I think sometimes we get into an "everything or nothing" mentailty. If we make one bad choice we say to ourselves...well I might as well just eat like crap all day since I've already made one bad decision. It's very easy to fall into that trap. And I did do that the day of their party...well I've already had a cupcake...might as well have some cake and ice cream too. And that's one of the things I love about the 21 Day Fix. It gives me the tools to occasionally have a "cheat" or bad day but I can easily get back to my good nutritional habits...becuase it isn't a "diet"...it's a nutritional program and teaches you good eating habits. It understands we are all human. Occasionally we may need a glass of wine or some chocolate...or a quarter pounder with cheese.

I will say, after 5 days of not exercising and making a few bad nutritional choices, I am so glad to get back to my 21 Day Fix nutrition plan and fitness....as well as my Chocolate Vegan Shakeology. It amazes me how satisfying Shakeology is and how it reduces my need to "snack" throughout the day. My daily cold coffee, ice, scoop of chocolate vegan Shakeology between breakfast and lunch is now a must have. I have never felt that way about a protein shake before...but Shakeology is so much more than a protein shake...

How do you rebound after a bad day or two with your fitness and/or nutritional choices?

We are Buckeye By Design

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

...

bottom of page